• Thu. 09.05.
  • 8.00 p.m.
  • Aachen

Works by Mozart, Chopin and Bartók


    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
    • Symphony No. 26 in E flat major K 184/161a
    • Frédéric Chopin (1810–1849)
    • Piano concerto No. 2 in F minor op. 21
    • Béla Bartók (1881–1945)
    • Music for strings, celesta and percussion, Sz 106 (BB 114)


Jan Lisiecki

For his unusual artistic maturity, his unmistakable sound, his poetic sensitivity and his technical brilliance, Jan Lisiecki has won widespread recognition. The New York Times called him »a pianist who gives meaning to every note«. According to London’s Financial Times, this 24-year old Canadian is already one of the greatest pianists of our time. In 2013, he was the youngest ever winner of Gramophone Magazine’s ›Young Artist of the Year Award‹ and also the Schleswig Holstein Music Festival’s Leonard Bernstein Award. In 2017 he also won the Echo Klassik and the Canadian Juno Award, both prizes resulting in a Chopin recording with Krzysztof Urbański and the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra. Lisiecki’s current album, recorded with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, includes both Mendelssohn Concertos.

Lisiecki can be found on the international stage with the world’s most renowned orchestras. He has already worked closely with such famous conductors as Sir Antonio Pappano, Daniel Harding and Claudio Abbado. Recent highlights include recital tours throughout Europe and Asia, as well as subscription concerts with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and the Staatskapelle Dresden. This season, this young pianist will be returning to the Philadelphia Orchestra at Carnegie Hall. The concert in the Glocke is Lisiecki’s debut with the Deutsche Kammer­philharmonie Bremen.


Alondra de la Parra

Alondra de la Parra has gained widespread attention for her spellbinding and vibrant performances and her commitment to Latin American composers. She is an official Cultural Ambassador of Mexico and frequently works with some of the world’s most prestigious orchestras including Orchestre de Paris, London Philharmonic Orchestra and Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich. In 2017, she began her term as Music Director of the Queensland Symphony Orchestra, making her the first ever Music Director of an Australian orchestra.

Engagements of the last seasons include her subscription debut with the NHK Symphony, her debut at Beethovenfest Bonn, her celebrated return to Orchestre de Paris which was broadcasted live by German-French TV channel Arte, appearances with the Verbier Festival Orchestra, BBC Philharmonic and a live orchestral performance of the film ›West Side Story‹ at Mexico’s Auditorio Nacional.

In the 2018/19 season, Alondra de la Parra is returning to the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg and to the Deutsche Kammer­philharmonie Bremen. A highlight of 2019 are the world premiere of the new production T.H.A.M.O.S at Mozartwoche Salzburg, together with Camerata Salzburg and the theatre collective La Fura dels Baus around Carlus Padrissa and her debut at the Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence.